Ex-chancellor awarded honorary fellowship by CIOT

Monday, January 18, 2016 Print Email

The former chancellor and also home secretary of the Exchequer have awarded honorary fellowship by CIOT – the Chartered Institute of Taxation. This honor is giving out for the 27th time in CIOT’s 85 year history.

MP of Rushcliffe, Kenneth Clarke, and also the Member of Parliament since 1970, was given the honor by Chris Jones president of CIOT during the president of institute’s luncheon.

Kenneth Clarke has also served as education secretary, justice secretary, minister, health secretary and Lord Chancellor without portfolio during his political career. In history, he also got the honor of fifth longest serving cabinet minister under David Cameron, John Major and Margaret Thatcher.

Kenneth Clarke is the fourth ex-chancellor who got the honorary fellowship from the Chartered Institute of Taxation, joining Denis Healey, Nigel Lawson and Geoffrey Howe.

The president of the Chartered Institute of Taxation, Chris Jones was praising the former chancellor when giving him honorary fellowship, in particular note down the "structural and continuing modifications to the tax system made throughout our receiver’s four years as chancellor". These incorporated new taxes on forms of utilization filing in the breaks in the prior scope of VAT; airline passenger duty, domestic heating and insurance premium tax.

Chris Jones also recalled about Clarke's association with the Budget. Jones said, “On the topic of the necessity to lift taxes more freshly this time as chancellor; politics will be different then, people did not consider budget remain always popular. People want things in budget those they did not like in them.”

Source: ReadyRatios

Login to ReadyRatios


Have you forgotten your password?

Are you a new user?

Login As
You can log in if you are registered at one of these services: